McCalls Sewing Pattern – Swing Dress from Summer to Fall + Tips


My ‘swing’ top and dress pattern (McCall’s #M7407) has been a hit with all ages and seasons! I chose to bring my navy one into my fall wardrobe with my wrap unlined overcoat in the long version with the tie McCall’s #M7479.

I want to share a few different ways this has been made from Summer to Fall, plus some Palmer/Pletsch tips for sewing knits from the Knits For Real People book. I love the dress AND the top but it’s the dress that I’ve made about 10 times this summer! I also love how my mom made it in a sweater knit for fall with sleeves; this pattern really works with all weights of knits and if you lengthen the armhole (because it is drafted for knits) you can even make it in a woven. I did in a rayon print.
http://blog.palmerpletsch.com/swing-dress-from-summer-to-fall-tips/

Leave a Reply

